User Management

You can adjust User Management settings and setup or review the registered user list.

System Settings

In this view, you can enable or disable the user management.

Note

The security options and the Users tab are not available when the user management is disabled.

Like for Microsoft Windows, you can set policies for a more secure system:

../../_images/settings.png
  • Minimum user id length

    The minimum amount of characters of the user id

  • Force a password change on first use

  • Force securer password

    The amount of rules that a password must follow.

    Rules/levels:

    1. your password must have an lower case letter

    2. your password must have an upper case letter

    3. your password must have a number

    4. your password must have a special character

  • Minimum password length

    The minimum amount of characters that a password must have

  • Allow re-use password after

    The user can reuse an old password after using others

  • Force change every

    After this time the user must change his password

  • Lock account after

    Max amount of failed login, after the account is locked

Important

After a change, you need to save it.

Users

../../_images/users.png

All users are displayed in the table. The system accounts admin and visionCATS_user, which are not modifiable, are displayed in blue.

Toolbar

  • addnewuser Add a new user

  • addwinuser Add an existing user from Windows or ActiveDirectory

    If most users use their own Windows account when working with visionCATS, you can import these Windows users in system, therefore a known Windows user will be automatically logged in.

    For adding Windows users, the Windows search window is used:

../../_images/addwinuserpopup.png

Note

Password of Windows users are not stored in the system, and it is not possible to modify them from visionCATS.

  • changepwd Change password of currently selected user

  • showhidden Toggle the display of locked users

Note

As users are referenced in action logged in system and analysis, it is not possible to delete one. Instead, you should lock the user. If you have too much locked user in the view, you should hide them.

User table

For each user (expect system accounts), you can set:

  • Locked: Is the user account locked

  • Is Guest: Is user workspace limited to guest folder

  • Create/edit analysis: Is the user allowed to create and edit analyses?

  • Create/edit methods: Is the user allowed to create and edit methods?

  • Diagnostics: Is the user allowed to do system diagnostics?

  • System settings: Is the user allowed to change system settings?

  • Licensing: Is the user allowed to change the system licenses?

  • User management: Is the user allowed to change user management settings