User Management

You can adjust User Management settings and setup or review the registered user list.

Note

When disabled, the user visionCATS_user will be used automatically.

System Settings

In this view, you can enable or disable the user management.

Note

The security options and the Users tab are not available when the user management is disabled.

In a similar way to Microsoft Windows, you can set policies for a more secure system:

../../_images/settings.png
  • Minimum user id length

    The minimum amount of characters of the user id

  • Force a password change on first use

  • Force securer password

    The minimum level rule that a password must follow

    Rule levels:

    1. your password must have an lower case letter

    2. your password must have an upper case letter

    3. your password must have a number

    4. your password must have a special character

  • Minimum password length

    The minimum amount of characters that a password must have

  • Allow re-use password after

    The user can reuse an old password after using others

  • Force change every

    After this time the user must change their password

  • Lock account after

    Max amount of failed logins, after that the account is locked automatically

Important

Don’t forget to save the changes!

Users

../../_images/users.png

All users are displayed in the table. The accounts admin (default system account, not intended to be used) and visionCATS_user (default user used when User Management is not activated), which are not modifiable, are displayed in blue.

Toolbar

  • addnewuser Add a new user

  • addwinuser Add an existing user from Windows or ActiveDirectory

    If most users use their own Windows account when working with visionCATS, you can import these Windows users in system, therefore a known Windows user will be automatically logged in.

    For adding Windows users, the Windows search window is used:

../../_images/addwinuserpopup.png

Note

Passwords of Windows users are not stored in the system, and it is not possible to modify them from visionCATS.

  • changepwd Change the password of the currently selected user

  • showhidden Toggle the display of locked users (useful if you have a lot of locked users)

Note

It’s not possible to delete a user because users are referenced in the different actions logged in the system and in the analysis. Instead, use the Lock check box to prevent some users from using visionCATS.

User table

For each user (expect system accounts), you can set:

  • Locked: Is the user account locked?

  • Is Guest: Is user workspace limited to Guest folder?

  • Create/edit analysis: Is the user allowed to create and edit analyses?

  • Create/edit methods: Is the user allowed to create and edit methods?

  • Diagnostics: Is the user allowed to do system diagnostics?

  • System settings: Is the user allowed to change system settings?

  • Licensing: Is the user allowed to change the system licenses?

  • User management: Is the user allowed to change user management settings?